An Interview with a young vegan…

As an adult, it is far easier to make decisions about our own diets but as a child we tend to have had our diets dictated to us by our parents. 

This was certainly the case for our children when they were small.

Our youngest son Dylan has always loved animals, he’s always felt a great connection to them so we used to take him to the local rare breeds farm so that he could run around with the pigs and feed the goats and chickens. 

It was around the age of 3 that we were learning about food and where it came from. When I explained that his sausages came from a pig, he asked me a question. 

“How?”

I had to explain, as best I could and without being graphic. 

“So the piggy died?”

I couldn’t lie to him, I had to answer yes… But, I continued, it was bred for it, it’s normal to eat meat, we need meat for protein to grow up big and strong and we only get meat that is organic and free range which means that it had a nice life.

All to placate this 3 year old who by now looked absolutely mortified. 

“I don’t want the piggies to die” He cried. 

I should have respected his wishes, I should have listened to this small child who intrinsically knew that it was wrong to eat the animals that he saw as his friends and equals.

We continued to eat meat and Dylan eventually stopped questioning it, he accepted that it was ‘normal’ and carried on eating sausages.

It was only many years later, when we all stopped eating meat because of the health implications and then for ethical reasons after watching a film called ‘earthlings’ that Dylan spoke to me about his experiences with eating meat. 

‘Ever since I found out where meat came from, I didn’t want to eat it anymore but you forced me – forcing me to eat animals was the worst thing you could have ever done to me’

This broke my heart. 

So, I thought I would interview him for this blog and here it is… 

1. Who are you?

I’m Dylan Karl John Blackwell.

2. How old are you?

I’m eleven years old.

3. When did you stop eating meat?

In June 2013, I stopped drinking cows milk then too. 

4. Why did you stop eating meat?

Because I felt like eating meat was an unnecessary torture for animals and I didn’t think it was right, it never sat well with me.

5. Did you really want to give up meat or did your parents force you into it?

I wanted to give up meat from the age of 3 but my parents wouldn’t let me, they said it was normal to eat meat and I that I needed the protein.

6. What would you say to people who say that eating animals is fine as long as they’re organic or free range?

I say it doesn’t matter if the animal was cuddled to death or slaughtered, the animal still had to die.

7. Do you miss eating animals products?

I miss eating two things, cream and cheese. (Mum’s getting better at vegan cheese and I can have coconut cream )

8. How easy was it to move from vegetarianism to becoming a vegan?

It was a slow process at first and I was still clinging on to cheese, but eventually that need slipped away and the only animal product I eat is honey and I haven’t had that for ages now.

9. How do you feel now compared to how you felt when you were a consumer of animals products?

I feel much cleaner and I feel a much nicer person.

10. Do you feel that people treat you differently when they find out that you’re a vegan? If so, how?

Not really, my friends are very respectful of my decisions. Strangers do sometimes make faces when they find out I don’t eat meat. 

11. Do you have a message to the world about being a vegan?

Be one and the world would be a better place 😃

12. Lastly, do you think you’ll ever go back to eating animal products int the future?

Unless somebody can magic up some meat and diary products with no animals being hurt, then no, never again…unless my life absolutely depended on it. Bye! 😉

Some people ask if we forced Dylan to adopt a vegan lifestyle but as you can see it was purely his choice, one which we will support. Dylan is healthier and far happier now that he’s not having to go against what he had always felt was so wrong. 

If I could take one thing away from the whole experience with Dylan and his feelings about eating meat; it would be that we must listen to our children about how they feel about eating meat once they understand where it comes from, not press them into what we think is ‘right’ and respect their wishes. 

Children who are raised to be compassionate towards animals will become adults who’s choices and actions could change the world for the better. 

 

Leave a comment