Spicy Porridge

A great friend introduced me to the healing powers of Ayurvedic food, but it wasn’t until recently that I experienced the benefits for myself.

Porridge has been my go to breakfast cereal of choice ever since I was little, and now that I am what most would consider an adult, I thought it was time for an overhaul of the staid combination of oats, milk and honey.

This reinvention combines the restorative and curative effects of Turmeric (a known anti inflammatory), Cinnamon (a super spice which a list of positive effects as long as my arm), Cayenne pepper (a spicy way to open up the blood vessels in the body to better allow in the goodies in this recipe), and finally, Black pepper (known to greatly increase the bio availability of Turmeric).

In recent weeks I have added a teaspoon of Coconut oil, partly because it produces a lovely glossy finish to the dish, but mainly because it again boosts the efficacy of Turmeric.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Handfuls of oats.
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon.
  • 1 tsp Ground Turmeric.
  • 1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper.
  • A pinch of freshly ground Black pepper.
  • 1 tsp Coconut oil.
  • Almond milk (add until desired consistency is achieved.
  • Flaked Almonds (optional).

Method:

  • Combine all dry ingredients in a saucepan.
  • Mix in the Almond milk until just a little runnier than you like it.
  • Place pan on a low heat until it begins to bubble gently.
  • Once bubbling, stir constantly until piping hot and thickened.
  • Sweeten with raw honey (or a vegan alternative) and add flaked almonds.

If you have a sensitive palate, then dial back on the Cayenne but try and leave at least a little black pepper in the mixture.

I hope you enjoy this twist on a classic meal, and I’d love to hear about your experience with it, and perhaps your own versions too.

X

Leave a comment